Essential Site @ ABBA Omnibus

ABBA The Concerts
ABBA live 1970-1982

ABBA Live Wembley2014

Live albums


ABBA’s first live album, released 1986, but deleted from the catalogue years ago.

Recordings partly feature corrected vocals and removed improvised lines (ABBA. The Complete Guide To Their Music, p. 77). All tracks are made to sound as coming from the same concert.

Exact concerts/dates of the individual recordings aren't specified. Nothing about this release shows much love for the matter anyway. It wasn't promoted much and the CD version neither featured a real booklet nor a single ABBA photo in the inlay. It is better than nothing and resembles the concept of the 1980 radio special, but has been doctored more.

Track list

  1. Dancing Queen
  2. Take A Chance On Me
  3. I Have A Dream
  4. Does Your Mother Know
  5. Chiquitita
  6. Thank You For The Music
  7. Two For The Price Of One
  8. Fernando
  9. Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)
  10. Super Trouper
  11. Waterloo
  12. Money, Money, Money
  13. The Name Of The Game/Eagle
  14. On And On And On

          Tracks 1-6, 11 and 13 recorded at Wembley, 1979.
          Tracks 7, 9, 10 and 14 taken from Dick Cavett Meets ABBA, 1981.
          Tracks 8 and 12 recorded in Australia, 1977.

ABBA Live at Wembley Arena

Live album released September 2014, featuring the recording of November 10, 1979.

  1. Gammal fäbodpsalm
  2. Voulez-Vous
  3. If It Wasn’t For The Nights
  4. As Good As New
  5. Knowing Me, Knowing You
  6. Rock Me
  7. Chiquitita
  8. Money, Money, Money
  9. I Have A Dream
  10. Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)
  11. SOS
  12. Fernando
  13. The Name Of The Game
  14. Eagle
  15. Thank You For The Music
  16. Why Did It Have To Be Me
  17. Intermezzo No 1
  18. I’m Still Alive
  19. Summer Night City
  20. Take A Chance On Me
  21. Does Your Mother Know
  22. Hole In Your Soul
  23. The Way Old Friends Do
  24. Dancing Queen
  25. Waterloo

So a complete concert without Not Bad At All which is why Frida’s introduction of the band seems very short and a bit misplaced. She actually introduced the band and the following song featuring Tomas Ledin and Mats Ronander. Some video footage of this and Agnetha & Frida on backing vocals can be found in the Japan tour feature included on the bonus disc of ABBA in Japan. Whether the track was excluded because of copyrights or similiar reasons or just because it might not have fit the vinyl edition is not known – the vinyl edition was released on three LPs instead of four as the first information in spring said.

The younger Andersson reveals the show was picked over others recorded  in Australia and Japan because of
the superior audio quality and more importantly, it featured the track I’m Still Alive, performed by  Fältskog and co-written with Ulvaeus, which has never been officially released till now.
The Business Times, January 9, 2015

Anyway, this album finally deserves to be called a live album. ABBA appear very raw here, without overdubs and such, but also playful and energetic. The impession sometimes is very different to the studio material, but it is a treat for those loving raw live recordings. So if you want perfectness, stick with the studio albums, if you are a fan of live atmosphere and some improvisation, this album is for you.

If you come across bad reviews, always make sure to verify what the people write about as the worst reviews seem to refer to the vinyl edition only.


The tours & concerts


Related content

Live on TV
On air
Releases & publications
Questions & tasks


Site search